Find out where burning bans are currently in effect in central and southwestern Virginia

0


ROANOKE, Virginia – The latest drought monitor shows parts of Southside, including Danville, Halifax County and southern Charlotte County, are experiencing “severe” drought.

Not to mention other areas in the region that experience dry conditions.

In light of these conditions, many regions have already started enacting open-air burning bans, as dry conditions increase the risk of fires.

[Dry weather conditions fueling concerns for wildfires in Southwest Virginia]

Open pit combustion is the combustion of materials in which the combustion products are emitted directly into the ambient air without passing through a chimney or a chimney from a closed chamber.

Below are the locations where burning bans are currently in effect:

A d

  • Amherst County – Its ban began on December 3 and will remain in effect “until conditions improve and it is determined that the extreme fire danger has ended,” according to the county public security department . The county’s announcement did not list a penalty for violators.
  • Charlotte County – Its ban began on December 2 at 6 p.m. The ban “will remain in effect until the region receives a significant amount of precipitation which decreases the risk of fire and an official notice of the lifting of the burning ban is issued,” according to the announcement. County. Violations of the prohibition can be punished as a Class 3 misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $ 500.
  • Danville – Its ban began on November 30. The ban will remain in force, until conditions improve, according to the city. Violations of this prohibition are punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which can be punishable by up to one year in prison and / or a fine of up to $ 2,500.
  • Halifax County – Its ban began on December 1 at 6 p.m. The ban will remain in effect “until the region receives a significant amount of precipitation that decreases the risk of fire,” according to the ban announced by the county. This ban can be punishable as a class 3 misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $ 500.
  • Henri County – Its ban began on December 2. The ban will remain in effect until further notice. The announcement of the ban mentioned that violators could face criminal charges, she did not provide further details.
  • Pittsylvania County – Its ban began on November 30 at 6 p.m. The ban “will remain in effect until the county receives a significant amount of precipitation that decreases the risk of fire, at which time the ban will be lifted,” according to the ban announcement. Violations of this prohibition are punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor, which can be punishable by up to one year in prison and / or a fine of up to $ 2,500.

See the map below from the Virginia Department of Forestry:

Copyright 2021 by WSLS 10 – All rights reserved.


Share.

Comments are closed.